Monday, September 28, 2015

Dr. Jacob Tsimerman wins 2015 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize:

The 2015 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize will
be awarded to Jacob Tsimerman of the
University of Toronto, Canada. The prize
will be awarded during the International
Conference on Number Theory at
SASTRA University in Tamil Nadu's
Kumbakonam (Ramanujan's hometown)
where the prize has been given
The SASTRA Ramanujan Prize was
established in 2005 and is awarded
annually for outstanding contributions
by young mathematicians to areas
influenced by the mathematics genius
Srinivasa Ramanujan. The age limit for
the prize has been set at 32 because
Ramanujan achieved so much in his
brief life of 32 years.
The 2014 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize
was awarded to Dr. James Maynard, a
27 year old mathematician from Oxford
University who specializes in number
theory. Previous winners of the prize are
Manjul Bhargava and Kannan
Soundararajan in 2005 (two full prizes),
Terence Tao in 2006, Ben Green in
2007, Akshay Venkatesh in 2008,
Kathrin Bringmann in 2009, Wei Zhang
in 2010, Roman Holowinsky in 2011,
Zhiwei Yun in 2012, and Peter Scholze
in 2013.
SASTRA – Shanmugha Arts Science
Technology and Research Academy
Abel Prize
The Abel Prize is an international
prize awarded annually by the
Government of Norwayto one or
more outstanding mathematicians
Named after Norwegian
mathematician Niels Henrik Abel
(1802–29), the award was
established in 2001
John F. Nash, Jr and Louis
Nirenberg are the winners of 2015
Abel Prize.