Thursday, September 17, 2015

Journalists from 4 countries to get Press Freedom Awards:

Journalists who have endured death
threats, physical attacks and
imprisonment are being honored in New
York with Press Freedom Awards. The
Committee to Protect Journalists' 2015
International Press Freedom Awards
will be presented to Malaysia's Zulkiflee
Anwar Ulhaque, Paraguay's Candido
Figueredo Ruiz and bloggers and
journalists from Ethiopia and Syria.
1. Ulhaque, CPJ's first cartoonist
awardee, is charged with sedition
and faces a possible jail sentence
for drawings lampooning high-
level abuse in the Malaysian
2. Ruiz lives under 24-hour police
protection for reporting on drug
smuggling on the Brazil-
Paraguay border.
3. The Ethiopian honorees are
bloggers for the Zone 9 group,
whose name is a reference to the
eight zones of a notorious prison.
Six of the bloggers have been
arrested and charged with
terrorism for critical reporting.
4. The Syrians are affiliated with the
citizen journalist collective Raqqa
is Being Slaughtered Silently. The
committee described it as one of
the few independent news
sources that continue to report
from inside the Islamic State's
self-proclaimed capital.
Veteran Associated Press foreign
correspondent Kathy Gannon, who was
shot six times by an Afghan security
officer while on assignment in
Afghanistan, will receive the Burton
Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime
achievement in the cause of press